For all you restless sleepers

Due to back problems and other issues, I often have difficult sleeping through the night.  Sometimes wake up 4-6 times – 2am, 3am, 4:30am 6am, etc. . .  It may also be due to not being physically tired enough on some occasions – work takes it out of me mentally, but my intense exercise tends to be in 2-3 hour spurts once or twice a week on the MX bike.

Anyway, Dr. Westmoreland prescribed me Restoril/Temazepam several weeks ago.  The generic version costs only $9.00 for 30 capsules and it is amazing.  It has a light muscle relaxer in it, which resolves any back stiffness issues and it comes in 3 strengths of the sleep portion of the drug.

If I take a Restoril, I sleep almost exactly 8 hours – it’s so precise that I hardly need an alarm clock if I time the taking of it right.  I wake up a little groggy for about 5-10 minutes and then feel really good.

The drawback is that since it’s a benzo (and thus prescription only), it can be addictive and on the other hand, it loses it’s effectiveness if taken too often.  Thus, I usually stick to 2-3 nights per week.  I highly recommend Restoril as a “dead to the world” sleep supplement – particularly if stiffness/soreness are issues for you.

However, it recently occurred to me to look up scriptures promising sweet sleep in order to focus on what is written and to pray for the Lord to increase my sleep whether Restoril is involved or not.  Here’s what I found (various translations):

Proverbs 3:24
When you take your rest you will have no fear, and on your bed sleep will be sweet to you.

Ecclesiastes 5:12
The sleep of a working man is sweet, if he has little food or much. . .

Job 11:18
And you will be safe because there is hope; after looking round, you will take your rest in quiet.

Leviticus 26:6
I will give peace in your coasts: you shall sleep, and there shall be none to make you afraid. . .

Numbers 24:9
His people lie down [and] rest like a lion. They are like a lioness. Who dares to disturb them? Those who bless you will be blessed! Those who curse you will be cursed!”

Psalm 4:8
I will take my rest on my bed in peace, because you only, Lord, keep me safe.

Psalm 139:3
You keep watch over my steps and my sleep, and have knowledge of all my ways.

Published in: on May 21, 2008 at 1:58 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://robwbright.wordpress.com/2008/05/21/for-all-you-restless-sleepers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

